Who Are Your Farmers? — Habiba

Habiba Said — Crew Member


Habiba works as part of the crew, doing everything from seeding to harvesting to weeding.  She is 28 years old and in her 3rd year at RFF.  She grew up in Somalia and came to the US when she was 19 years old.  She lives in Springfield with her husband Haji and their 6 children.




What do you like about farming? I like that I can do so many different things while working here.  Some days I clean onions, other days I seed in the greenhouse, other days I weed, and other days I harvest.  The work here is very hard, but I like it and will stay here for a while.  I especially like that I can be outside a lot.


What’s your favorite vegetable? How do you cook with it?  I love to make soup with carrots, onions and all varieties of potato.  I love to cook with sweet potatoes too.  I cut and fry them on a pan with coconut milk and sugar.  The tomatoes here are very good, so I enjoy eating those all season too.


What do you like to do when you’re not farming?  I spend a lot of time with my family.  My youngest daughter, Ella was born in January of this year.  She is 8 months old now, so when I’m not working, I spend a lot of my time with her.  My oldest daughter, Hawa is 16.  In between my oldest and youngest, I have a 13 year old son named Abdulkadir, a 12 year old daughter named Amina, an 8 year old daughter named Jasmine and a 4 year old daughter named Fahema.  When I’m not working, I spend a lot of time doing things around the house, shopping and caring for my kids.




Harvesting basil